Skip to Content


The work of SCIS is carried out by a small team of enthusiastic professionals, assisted when required by specialists, and overseen by the SCIS Board. The team is committed to serving the best interests of member schools.


John Edward


John was appointed Director (CE) of SCIS in April 2010, having previously been Head of the European Parliament’s Office in Scotland for 6 years.  Prior to that he worked in Brussels, as EU Policy Manager for Scotland Europa in Brussels, and for the European Policy Centre.  He studied in St Andrews, Glasgow and Siena, before making his way back to Edinburgh – but is now Colombian by marriage.

Alison Herbert

Deputy Director, External Relations

Alison joined SCIS as Deputy Director External Relations in November 2013. A former marketing manager at a large independent school she has worked in educational marketing for over 20 years. Alison relishes the diversity of her role but particularly enjoys working with colleagues in schools to promote and advance the sector. Alison is happy to help with any queries you may have.

Margaret Lannon

Deputy Director, Education & Professional Learning

Prior to joining SCIS in January 2016, Margaret was a Depute at George Heriot’s School. Whilst Margaret’s key role is to lead and develop a vision for the professional learning strategy, she also represents SCIS at national level on a number of bodies including SCEL, GTCS, SQA and Scottish Government.

Alison Newlands

Assistant Director, Finance & Research

Alison joined SCIS in November 2010 from Citizens Advice Scotland where she was a Project & ICT officer. Alison is responsible for all financial matters, Governing Board meetings, AGM and research, including pupil numbers and exam results.
When not keeping the SCIS staff on their toes, Alison is a chairing member of the Children’s Panel and Learning & Development Co-ordinator for the service. She has a BA in Childhood and Youth Studies.
abc alphabet blackboard 265076

Kirsten Hamilton

Executive Officer

Kirsten joined the SCIS team in November 2017 from Citizens Advice Scotland where she was ICT Projects & Application Support. Kirsten is responsible for the coordination of professional learning events and conferences, as well as other aspects of member support.

SCIS Governing Board

The SCIS Governing Board comprises the Chair, and Governors, Heads and Bursars elected by the member schools, as follows:

Mr. Alan Hartley
Mr. Barry McMaster
Honorary Treasurer
Mr. Matthew Bartlett
St Aloysius College, Glasgow
Mr. Mark Becher
The Compass School, Haddington
Mr. Gavin Calder
Lathallan School, Johnshaven
Mr. Guy Cartwright
The Edinburgh Academy, Edinburgh
Mr. Nathan Davies
Albyn School, Aberdeen
Head of Junior School
Mr. Paul Fairclough
George Heriot's School, Edinburgh
Head of Senior School
Mr. Colin Gambles
Hutchesons' Grammar School, Glasgow
Mr. John Gilmour
Craigclowan Prep School, Perth
Ms. Elaine Logan
Cargilfield Prep School, Edinburgh
Mrs. Yvonne McCracken
Gordonstoun, Elgin
Mrs. Jacqui McInnes
The Glasgow Academy, Glasgow
Mr. Simon Pengelley
High School of Glasgow; Loretto, Musselburgh,
Mr. Stuart Provan
Seamab, Rumbling Bridge, Fife
Chief Executive
Mr. George Salmond
George Watson’s College, Edinburgh
Head of Junior School
Mr. Anthony Simpson
ESMS, Edinburgh
Head of Stewart's Melville College
Miss. Anna Tomlinson
St Margaret’s School for Girls, Aberdeen
Mr. Peter Worlledge
Fettes College, Edinburgh